Gods Holiness

God is holy and I don’t know of any other way to get to the holiness of God than by comparing it with sin. I would say that in the Bible, at least in my mind, probably the most revealing passage regarding the holiness of God is the sixth chapter of Isaiah.

And you don’t need to turn to it, let me just mention it to you. Isaiah says, “In the year that king Uzziah died I saw the Lord high and lifted up and His train filled the temple.” He had a vision of God and he said, “Around God were the seraphims, and they had six wings, with twain they covered their feet, with twain they covered their faces and with twain they did fly.”

And one of those angels, you remember, took his tongs and took a coal from off the altar and touched the tongue of Isaiah, but before all of that what really is the issue in that passage? Isaiah says, “I saw the Lord and I cried out, Woe is me for I am undone, I am a man of unclean lips for mine eyes have seen the King.” He was absolutely shattered to the very core of his being. He shook fiercely.

He violently was being shattered. Why? Because he had seen the holiness of God and in…in seeing the holiness of God he was rattled to the very base of his being by his own sinfulness. You see? And I tell you something, people, it…it is not until a man understands the holiness of God, that that will never happen without a comparison with his own sin.

It’s not until you understand your own sin that you’ll ever know the holiness of God. The two go together. You can’t know your sin until you know His holiness and you can’t know His holiness until you see your sin. Isaiah saw God lifted up and then he saw himself and he just poured his inner heart out…Oh, woe is me…I am undone

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

